theorangeinkblot

Looking at life through orange colored glasses…

Dream a Little Dream, then Wonder What it Means…

A couple of nights ago I dreamed of chocolate.  Chocolate brownies, chocolate syrup, chocolate truffles, everything chocolate.  When I woke up and went into the kitchen the dream made sense.  On the counter were the nine boxes of Girl Scout cookies we had ordered, and two boxes of chocolate cake mix and containers of frosting for my daughter’s birthday cake.  Couple that with my decision to give up chocolate and the dream is not so strange.

Other dreams that I have had are not so easy to explain.  I have one recurring dream that seems easy enough to interpret on the surface.  I am back in college and it is the end of the semester.  There is a literature class I have never attended, but I never got around to dropping.  Now, I have 24 hours to read four William Faulkner novels to prepare for the final.  To make matters worse, I have no idea where the final is taking place and I don’t know how to find out.

Classic anxiety dream, right?  But it’s an anxiety dream that I should not be having.  I spent from 1996 to 2006 studying and working in the area of higher education, six of those years I spent as an academic adviser where part of my job was advising students on university policy pertaining to adding and dropping classes.  If there is anyone who knows how to appeal to the Dean of a college for an exception to policy (i.e. drop a class past the due date) it is me.  No matter how many times I have this dream, it never occurs to me to go to my adviser for help.  I find this fascinating.  The other part that makes little sense is this.  In all my years attending and working at schools, I have never seen an undergraduate professor count a final for more than 40% of the final grade.  If I had not attended class or turned in an assignment all semester, even getting an ‘A’ on this dream induced final exam will not let me pass the class.  So why am I even trying to prepare?

There is one dream from my childhood, though, that to this day I cannot explain but I remember it clear as day.  My family is dressed in bathing suits and we are all in a large hot tub inside our house.  We are making small talk when all of a sudden out the window we see King Kong making his way down our street.  King Kong is looking to eat anyone not eating a bathrobe, so we jump out of the hot tub throw on our robes and run up and down the streets warning our neighbors with shouts of “Don your bathrobes!!”  At the same time there is a cable car suspended from our telephone wires making its way down the street.  Those folks cannot get to a bathrobe in time, so King Kong eats them.

This banana is fine but what I'm really craving is a person not wearing a bathrobe.

Back off ape face! I have a hair dryer and I'm not afraid to use it!!

Anyone care to take a crack at that one??  What’s the strangest dream you’ve ever had?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Dream a Little Dream, then Wonder What it Means…

  1. Be wary, now you’ve done it! I’ve discovered of all the Blog entries I’ve made my entries about dreams seem to get the most hits from web searches. If you don’t have a stat counter on your blog, try adding the plug-in: WordPress.com Stats.

    Here are links to two of my writings you might be interested in about similar topics:

    Time Travel and Dreams: http://www.hdhstory.net/Storyblog/?p=145

    Recurring Dreams: http://www.hdhstory.net/Storyblog/?p=180

    Love your writing!
    Your ex-teach

  2. Thanks, Mr. H! I look forward to reading your dream stuff!!!

  3. I’ve had that dream (the school one, not the King Kong one!) and thought I was (at least somewhat) unique until I read this: http://xkcd.com/557/. I also tend to miss a lot of trains, plains, and ferries. And discover that I’m suddenly naked in a public place. That is also a very standard dream – but WHY? Who has EVER had the worry that, oh shit, did I forget to put my clothes on this morning? And, yet, with all the real things to worry about, that’s what comes out in our dreams. Weird, the things we share.

  4. I often dream about Girl Scout cookies too . . . 😉

Leave a Reply

